Here's my RC Bell 206

She’s getting ready to get a new facelift though. She’s getting converted to an Military version soon. Rotor blade span/diameter is 65"

3 Likes

That looks awesome and I bet it’s not as easy to fly as you make it look. :slight_smile:

Well I’ve been flying RC aircraft since 1981 and got into the heli’s around 89 and my first heli was a job to fly. You start by only a few inches off the ground learning to hover and gradually working your way up to forward flight. I mean this is within weeks not hours… Then you have to learn how to stop forward flight and get back to an hover. Back then we had nitro burning engines which heli’s ran a 35% nitro and the rest was oil. They still fly them today but the battery style had just about taken over the RC heli industry because the large electric motors today produce a lot more power for heli’s then the nitro’s did so more power is good because sometimes you just need it to get out of trouble where as the nitro’s tend to bogg down if too much power is added at one time. Now for planes or fixed wing i always run gas because I only build and fly scale planes. I build my own and use to build years ago for customers. That was my living and it was pretty lucrative back then. I’ve built and flown just about every type of plane out there, everything from the old ducted fans and prop trainer planes to 60% scale Edge 540’s running twin engine gas monsters swinging 38" propellers. This heli is a T-REX 550X and the fuselage is a “Roban” 206, 700 size. I custom fitted this heli and stretched it out with a 700 size tail boom to make it work. The electric motor has a huge amount of power because this machine is designed for 3D flying which I never done anyway but again having the power on a small sized heli has a lot of advantages especially when it comes to “Room” inside the fuse for additional items like an interior or other gadgets, maybe a camera or whatever. The fuselages are very light and very strong so it was a