Starting the 206

I have had the 206 since minute one. I’ve watched a load of videos and read the manual but…
Out of minimum of 200 starts (I’m guessing) I have only had two starts that didn’t end up ‘hot’. On those two occasions I thought I had it nailed. Wrong!
However gently I feed in the throttle (I have a Thrustmaster throttle, One axis is assigned to collective and the other to throttle. Both work in the right direction. When I get to the point where the idle lock is released all hell breaks loose and a hot start is the result. I must have spent several million dollars on new engines!
What-is-the-secret?
I’m using the ‘Realistic’ setting.
I’m betting I’m not alone.

BAT on. Throttle at 0%. Press and hold STARTER button and watch GAS PRODUCER (N1) until it reaches 15% When it does, add THROTTLE till IDLE REL pops up (No further) Continue to hold STARTER and leave THROTTLE where it is (~30%) until N1 reaches 58%. Release STARTER. Wait 1 Minute. Advance THROTTLE to 70% Turn on GENERATOR (overhead panel) Smoothly add THROTTLE up to to 100% while Simultaneously keeping TORQUE below 40%

RotorRick

Thanks Rick. You know what did it? Two little words = (no further). :+1:
One happy bunny.

2 Likes

Glad I could help out!

RotorRick

Back again. As they say, ‘One swallow does not a summer make’ I got one good start and I was cock-a-hoop. I really thought I’d got it.
As gently as I roll the throttle to idle and NO FURTHER it still gallops off to the Hot start territory. I only way I can get any flying in is ‘Ignore’.
I’ve been kidding myself I’m not dumb but I’ve been proven wrong.
Retired hurt.

1 Like

I am having the same trouble, as soon as it pops it hot starts. Reading the app, it mentions a check box in flight model but I cannot expand the app window to reveal said check box. I love flying it!! You’ve done a brilliant job.

Follow this EXACTLY…!!