Where do I start?

Despite writing software for a living, I have no knowledge whatsoever of PC Gaming and Simulator - absolutely none, zero, squat. The only computer ‘game’ I have ever seen was Space Invaders in a pub in the late 1970s!

I have one interest, and one interest only, I want to fly a Bell 47. When I came across this website I thought I had struck gold, but where to begin?

I have a bunch of questions (apologies in advance). I am not sure this is even the correct place to ask them, but here goes!

For reference, here is the specification of my current desktop PC:

Windows 10 (Enterprise 64-BIT) - 16GB RAM - 1TB SSD
Intel i7-3770K @ 3.50GHz
Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 (DirectX 12)

1. I understand that I need to purchase Microsoft Flight Simulator (MSFS), is there a specific version I need or should avoid?
  2. Would the simulator well run on my current PC, or would I benefit from a better specification?
  3. Will the simulator run on a PC and/or Xbox?
  4. Is there a benefit of an Xbox over a PC or vice versa?
  5. I have seen videos of people running simulation software with a virtual reality headset. Is this an option with this simulator? If so, are any particular headsets recommended?
  6. Are more realistic input devices available with cyclic, throttle, collective and foot pedals available? As before, if so, are any recommended?

In terms of budget, I could probably spend £1,500 ($2,000) - ignoring PC/Xbox costs. Is this realistic or am I delusional?

Thank you for your patience.