Ground contacts on v.1.92

the Bell206 glides on the ground as if it had a running gear: if you land on land with a simple slight slope, the helicopter slips!

On the other hand (unrelated to the fact that it slides on the ground), it is impossible to put only one skate or only the front of the skates (which is feasible in reality) on a slope: the 206 loses its stability as soon as it comes into contact with the skates

2 Likes

This may have something to do with attempted changes regarding this person’s post:

https://forum.flyinside-helis.com/t/skid-friction-during-autorotation/1212

yes indeed I think that the modification was made to respond to this person in relation to the slips in autorotation, but now the effects generated by this modification have negative impacts on the support of the skates on the ground on slopes!

I see the issue. I am not sure what is going on as I am not an aircraft designer. The fix for friction on the runways is better now, but I can confirm what you are saying here. Landing on a slope she just slides away. I don’t know what parameters affect this, but the Bell 407 in the sim does not suffer from this. I can do run-on landings and have a little slide at the landing auto rotations, but it will also land and hold a slope. Hopefully a fix to balance the two can be found.

EXACTLY what is happening to me!

while waiting for a more convincing evolution, I went back to version 1.91 which seems more realistic to me!

Thanks for the reports all, we’ll get this dialed in.

When I finally land (which is still difficult because of the ‘rudder’ issues), my B206 behaves like a supermarket trolley on a very gradual slope!

The skidding in version 1.92 is to much.
Hope they go back to the one of version 1.91

Just compared the flight_model.cfg files from 1.91 and 1.92.
They changed the contact point type from 3=skid to 1=wheel
So in 1.91 it is all correct, in 1.92 it is wrong because there are skid no wheels